Hey guys!

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, but life has been insane! My eighteenth birthday came and went in a swirl of parties and an Indians game. For those of you who don’t know, the Cleveland Indians are my favorite sports team and I love baseball. My brother decided that an Indians game was the perfect way to celebrate my birthday, and I agreed, especially since they won (with a four-run lead for the cherry on top). The other highlight of my birthday was passing my driving test! So, I’m legal on the road now, which basically just means I help my mom pay for insurance, gas, and run errands.

Essentially, I had a great birthday, but that isn’t the point of this post.

Obviously, you guys want to hear about my family vacation. We left the day after my birthday (which also included a 7:30 AM Physical Therapy appointment- but that’s another story). My family was supposed to go see the Statue of Liberty on the first. Notice the word “supposed?” Yeah… it was an interesting day.

So, the first thing you have to understand is very simple: our family vacations always involve car problems. Every. Single. Time. If it’s not an actual car breaking down problem, then something happens with one of the people in the car.

  • Exhibit A: the dog vomiting on my brother in the backseat of a van during our trip to Gettysburg.
  • Exhibit B: the truck breaking down while doing a cross-country trip to see Yellowstone and the Grand Canyon.
  • Exhibit C: our aunt’s battery died on the way to Buttonwood.

I could keep going, but I’ll spare you my embarrassment.

Once you know about that tradition, you have to be wondering what went wrong this time, right? Well, it’s very simple. We were taking three cars into New Jersey to the Liberty State Park so we could take ferry and go see the Statue of Liberty. Sounds simple, right? Wrong.

We didn’t even pull out of the driveway before my cousin points out that our uncle’s truck smells awful. It’s a diesel truck so we didn’t think much of it, at least, not until we’re on the highway. Suddenly, we can see because there’s something burning in the truck and it’s creating a cloud of smoke so thick my aunt had to pull off the highway and pray to God my other aunt realized she was stopping.

That’s all well and good. My one aunt and uncle decide to stay back with the still smoking truck and my youngest cousin to wait for the tow truck, while the rest of us would go on to New Jersey. We’re cruising, slightly more cramped than we were in the beginning, and we’re barely on the road for twenty minutes when my brother texts my mom warning her not to stop at a rest stop in New Jersey because they’re all closed due to the government shutdown.

Well… a government shutdown also shuts down the State Parks.

I didn’t get to see the Statue of Liberty.

I did get to see another Burger King and Wal-Mart though!

The start of our family vacation involved getting up at a quarter till four just to go to Burger King and Wal-Mart.

This is going to be a very exciting trip.

(Oh, and the truck hasn’t even been seen yet because the garage door at the auto place was broken. We’re such lucky people).

Leave a Reply

