Hakuna Matata

We grew up together,

Him and I,

Climbing trees and

examining the night sky.

Everyone thought we would marry,

Including me, and we tried. We tried.

 

Some people just don’t fit together.

Like Him and I.

He has a wonderful wife,

oddly enough,

so do I.

We love each other, just not enough.

 

He’ll be by my side for life.

There’s no worries there.

My kids will call him Uncle.

Maybe one day,

We’ll climb trees together,

and continue looking at the night sky.

 

AN: These next few poems are inspired by lyrics from specific songs, mostly Disney or Musicals. The title is the lyric that inspired the poem.

Leave a Reply

